Cars, Culture, and Etc.

Video: Chris Bangle on design

In Link, Video on March 19, 2008 at 9:29 am


This video is wonderful for a few reasons…

  • It’s been a great distraction over my lunch hour.
  • I’ve spoken to Bangle, but never realized his unique accent.
  • He brilliantly describes the madness in loving the auto-mobile.
  • He discusses BMW’s very interesting Deep Blue project, aka the BMW X5.

Looking back at the larger, more interactive video on the TED site, I noticed an interesting comment, by Larry Pipitone:

This is a wonderful talk about art and design, but Bangle didn’t design the Pagani Zonda. The Renaissance art reference is out the window for me.

Chris Bangle speaks of passion and history, but he has stripped BMW of both elements. A marque of engineering triumph and purposeful design has turned into an illustrator’s display of his careful linework and American machismo – an utter failure in the evolution of the company. Dare I say, the last true BMW was the E46 M3.

Thanks again for the design talk, but I don’t buy the follow-through.


My point? At least people talk about, and care about BMW design. I’m personally not much of a fan, but I don’t have to be. At least they’re trying things. At least they’re crazy enough to see what happens with the X6.

Polarizing opinion is what design is all about. Kudos, Chris Bangle. I wouldn’t buy your art, but it doesn’t mean I can’t admire it.

Leave a Reply

